Popular Post

Showing posts with label Anime Reviews. Show all posts

Another : Anime Review

By : Unknown

Another Review


Another Thumbnail

Another is a horror, mystery, school, and thriller anime with 12 episodes that has been aired from Jan.10 up to Mar.27 a couple of years ago.


Another is one of the best R-rated anime series in it's generation that has a good animation and at the same time a great, intriguing revolving story.


The story revolves with Kouchi Sakakibara who transferred to Yomiyama North Middle School's 3rd year's third class who pursued a friendship into a beautiful girl named Misaki Mei, unkowingly, what trouble this can be caused.


Another has a slow paced story considering that it has only 12 episodes which are meant to be for fast-paced stories out there.

Story : Considering that it only has 12 episodes, the story development of this series is a little bit lazy focused, and probably that is a one thing that really impressed me on how does the creator managed to packed all this laziness into just 12 episodes only.

Aside from that one unique characteristic of this series is when you are about to discover something on a particular episode, suddenly, a suprised will come out causing you to analyze the story once again and redo your brainstorming. In fact, while watching this series, you'll imagined yourself that you are also involved with the story and participating to solve the puzzle along with the main cast of the story as well. Also the fact that you'll get dissapointed that you haven't solve some piece of the jigsaw puzzle of the story makes this series fun to watch.

Ofcourse if there is a PROS then probably, there are some CONS as well.

Regarding with the CONS I would much say that the story doesn't deserved a 12 episodes only, because I believe that you can spin the disambiguation of your viewers considering the fact that the story is a revolving creepy story that makes a particular series to be a slow paced, so I'd rather say that you can extend the series up to the maximum of 24-26 episodes since it has a lot of tactical story development which enable the viewers to redo their analysis over and over again until they found out on how to solve the mystery which might be considered as the main selling point of the story as well.



Art : The art is simply amazing considering that this story involves violence and tremendous killing methods since the story depicts deaths, in fact, massive number of deaths involved in the story. Also the cause of deaths in this series is one of the most effective way to express the art of Shinigami on how he takes the life of an individual unexpectedly yet brutal.

Aside from that what makes you believe this series is a horror story in terms of art, is the impressive illustration of all of the elements to manufacture an amazing horror-mystery story. Starting from the dark-oranged skies, flying crows that are waiting for your last breath and take out your eyeball in real time, a long path to the hallway with a blinking dim light that can make you think that the next blink in of the light a mysterious shadow appears and that is exciting in fact.

Also the Dolls, yes the creepy dolls also had a huge impact to make the story art believable. In fact, I am afraid of dolls as well, I always think that they are looking at you whenever you go and probably most of you thinks the same way as well.

Blood, I am afraid of blood as well the more blood spurting the more terror you'll get, and luckily for terror hunters you'll get what you want in this series. Also the use of different crafts and materials to kill are the most exciting part of the story.



Sounds : Sound elements of a story has a huge impact in every digital arts you see, including animation because it will serve as the voice of the story, and unfortunately, I am not satisfied with the sound elements that has been used for the whole series. Organ/Piano sounds are a good investment for this series unfortunately, I heared them very rarely or maybe I am not just carried away with those instruments. Violins you can make a strange sound with violins as well but I haven't heard them on this series as well.

Sound FX, yes the sound FX are really impressive, stabbing a knife through your throat? Yes it sounds real.

BGM's This one has some issues as well. Especially on the beach scene, I am not sure what to think about after I heared that sound.

So when it comes to sound elements I'll score this as an average.



Character : This is my favorite part for this series, we all know now that Another is a horror-mystery series and what we expect for the characters are a little details only out there. Just come to think of it transfering into a school where those people around you are strangers and some of them are acting strange. So what would you think? Exciting! And you want to know more about them!

Character development for the story is a slow paced as well in terms of the GTKEO (Getting To Know Each Other) aspect, in my own interpretation for this is because this one is a horror-mystery story and giving excessive details to your viewer can messed up the whole story and turns your ending into an expected crap. This one is a main aspect of the series as well because you are involved with the story at the same time and you are trying to know each character's personality since their personalities, are the key to your analysis to solve the mystery puzzle.



Overall : This is a must watch series for this specific genre and you'll not get dissapointed in terms of the positive things I've said above. Also note that this story is not for all audience, since it is a rated R series, and sometimes some of us are really sensitive when it comes to violence and profanity.



Sakurasou No Pet Na Kanojo Review by: Smooched

By : Unknown
Anime Review by: Smooched

If I were to stick to my initial instincts, I would have dropped this show already. Why? The opening scenario in the first episode had every possible sign that screamed: code red. It starts out with an annoying and obnoxious girl flaunting her body, situated in a room with a clueless male character. Now that's original. Thankfully, this anime actually progresses into the realms of solid storytelling, with the themes of failure and realism being eminent. The story touches on the insurmountable gap between commoners and geniuses, and explores the relationship between these polar-opposite characters. The drama with all of this, although hard to absorb at times, will perpetually draw you in episode after episode.

For me, watching Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is like finding a diamond in the rough. The “rough” that I am referring to, would be the dominance of the many crappy ecchi-romance shows in the anime industry. In these shows, the romance is inevitably cheapened by the ecchi aspect of it. Although I am not the biggest fan of the ecchi genre, it’s fine as long as it does not take precedence over the storyline. In addition, the story needs to build up momentum to escalate the romance to its full effect. This show does both, and at a high level. Comedy wise, it was unoriginal and uninspiring after a certain point. The jokes became too reliant on one thing, which was the obliviousness of the female protagonist. Ultimately, this show’s main appeal is the drama and the romance.

The title pretty much sums up this show: translated as “The Pet Girl of Sakurasou”. The main female protagonist, Mashiro Shiina, is that “pet girl”; a beautiful girl with a genius in her. She is a world famous renowned painter and an aspiring manga artist. Nevertheless, conventional wisdom points to the notion that all geniuses are also retarded. In Shiina’s case, she is inept in living a normal life. She needs a caretaker to feed, clean, and dress her, symbolic to a lazy domesticated cat. That is also where most of the ecchi is derived from. A teenage girl who needs assistance in personal hygiene can only lead to one thing. To the author's credit, this is a shrewd implementation of fan service that cannot be overlooked. The male protagonist, Sorata Kanda, is her caretaker. He operates in a different world than Shiina, and fits the expression of Jack of all trades, master of none. He is just a plain and average boy while Shiina is gifted with artistic talent. Can they coexist with each other? The plot screams: DRAMA!

Drama can be good but also bad. It’s bad when it gets overblown. It’s good when it’s realistic. This show falls under the realistic side for the most part. I was intrigued by the prospect of pairing Sorata and Shiina. The character development of both characters comes hand in hand with their relationship. The simple fact that Sorata feels inferior to Shiina creates a lot of hardships, which was well executed throughout the series for the most part. Put yourself in Sorata’s shoes. His feelings are real. His insecurity about himself was magnified by Shiina’s outstanding talents. This often makes Sorata a detestable character because of his random lash outs. The boring characters are always the realistic ones. However, he is a good fit for the main protagonist of this story no matter how much of a sissy you think he is. He is the "balance" to all the crazy characters in this show. Mashiro Shiina is probably the fan favorite, being the clueless, deredere girl she is. Watching her can be highly satisfying and cute, especially when she figures out what love is. She massages the soft spot of many viewers. I am a victim.

The rest of the cast in Sakurasou is good and steady for the most part. The fact that Sorata is not the only important male character automatically deserves credit. My standards are low after being subjected to all the harems that exists in the world of anime. To create more drama, because we can't get enough of it, Aoyama is added to the mix to form a love triangle with Sorata and Shiina. She is more on Sorata’s level in terms of talent and diligence. This makes the love triangle more conflicted, which means more dramatic! What a surprise! There is also the wacky-calm duo in Misaki and Jin to provide a dose of comedy whenever it’s needed. Ryuunosuke completes the group as a shut-in computer nerd that has a phobia for girls. The diversity in these characters makes a good supporting cast.

I have zero complaints over the production done by J.C Staff. Kayano Ai is a perfect match for Shiina’s emotionless personality. There could not have been a better voice actress for her. The coloring scheme for the setting gives off a certain light-heartedness that sits well with me. Other than that, nothing really stood out to my eyes, which is quite a shame since this show is about art.

I didn’t see myself enjoying Sakurasou na Pet no Kanojo initially, especially after the opening scene to this show. “Here we go again” was the thought that popped up in my head, but I didn't cut the knot. You shouldn't either.




Review Copy Disclaimer


Anime Gallery accepts review copies of anime, manga, and related games, and have done reviews based on them in the past. Since its inception, Anime Diet has upheld the highest standards of journalistic integrity, disclosing gifts from publishers or related parties.  In keeping with standard journalistic policy, individual disclosures are not given for review materials that are returned by reviewers to the publisher or to Gallery itself.

For more information, or inquire about sending a review copy, please contact avijiinagee@gmail.com. Thanks!


Death Note Review

By : Unknown
Death Note is a Japanese manga series created by writer Tsugumi Ohba and manga artist Takeshi Obata which was adapted into an anime and directed by Araki, Tetsurou and produced by Maruyama, Masao. It centers on Light Yagami, a high school student who discovers a supernatural notebook, the titular "Death Note" or “Desu Noto”. This notebook grants the ability to kill anyone whose name is written. The series follows Light's subsequent efforts to create a criminal-free world using this extra ordinary notebook, and the efforts of a detective known as L or (Lawliet L.) to stop him.

Death Note was first serialized in 108 chapters by Shueisha in the Japanese manga magazine Weekly Shōnen Jump from December 2003 to May 2006. The anime series aired October 3, 2006, to June 26, 2007. Consist of 37 episodes.

Death Note brings you to the mood of critical thinking and intelligence, which will make you think over and over again.

It has a great plot that insures you to get your characters from Point-A to Point-Z.
Creating a new world with your own hands isn't fair enough, bringing up the fact that no one has the right to judge anyone and that what is Desu Noto is all about. Story relation with its own viewer is really epic; it permits you to solve the puzzle first before it reveals what really happens in the series.
This is a good example of what is psycho thriller was all about.

Exceptional art for Death Note was implemented resulting into a masterpiece series when it comes to anime & character illustration. Supposed to be that the anime story is in a classic theme still the latest art was implemented in a really nice way, also I love the art for some scenes when Yagami Light is talking to himself where he turns to be a red colour Yagami. Not only that, Lawliet L was the highlight for this series (for me) when it comes to the art section.

Sound, there’s nothing really special here as usual hardcore music are being implemented when it comes to psycho and supernatural series. The one that caught my attention here are the voice actors/actresses they did a great job to personalize and to illustrates the visualization for each character. Lawliet L. was the most impressive here when it comes to voice acting. Performed by (Japanese) voice actor Yamaguchi Kappei.

About the character well, I've already said it earlier that characters are impressive either personalization & visualization. Each of them has a unique characteristic. Let say for example, Lawliet L. the way he moves is really strange and very intriguing, answering the phone and reading something in an unusual way spiced up the whole series. This also applies to “Near” as well which are very entertaining.


Well I really enjoyed this one, the fact that you are also involved with the story spice you up on what is going to happen next. You might get to the point that you want to play it in a fast forward mode.

So overall I gave it a mark of 9/10, which means it is almost perfect to me, because I've never scored 10/10 as many of us would not agree since we have our own preferences.

Want to improve my review? Please comment your feedback on how to improve my review methods as I am reviewing this one based on my opinions only.

JA! Domo!

Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 Review

By : Unknown


Genre: Drama
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: July 10, 2009 to September 18, 2009
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older







Tokyo Magnitude 8.0: catastrophe, and tremendous disaster.

Have you already said to your family that you love them very much?
Does it necessary for you to someone to be disappear before you realize that they matters?
Have you already realize the possibility that anytime from now a devastating tragedy will come?
Do they need to disappear first before you act?

Those are the possible questions that will sink into your mind while watching Tokyo Magnitude 8.0.
Story depicts and illustrates the possible damages when a Magnitude 8.0 earthquake hits Tokyo. Still no one knows what would be the real damages when this one comes up.

Story 9/10: Storyline of this anime is precise and very detailed. It comes into a narrow classification which is Drama. Carrying only 11 episodes might not be enough to illustrate the whole story for this anime, yet still even the story was driven into a fast paced TV series you’ll end up into a tragic and yet inspiring ending. As this anime illustrates and replicates all of the reality here in this world, people will surely love this one, since most of us can relate with the story of Tokyo Magnitude 8.0

Art 9/10: Art for this anime is excellent. It is obvious that too much effort was exerted just to make this one very realistic. When you come up and see, starting from the hometown of Mirai (Female Lead Character) all of the resources and structures are very detailed. Also you can notice that the implemented art is realistic including the traditional houses, roads, and structure forms of every single location in the series.


Sound 8/10: When it comes to SFX elements, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 never failed to deliver the realistic illustration in any events. Plus Intro and Outro music are really nice and they were really fit for each animation. Voices of the characters really matched on how they act and how they speak.

Character 8/10: Mirai contains the most annoying characteristics and traits in real life. But, this one is really good to demonstrate and illustrate both words which are “REALIZATION “and “RELATE”. Also having a personality that replicates a non-fiction individual in real life would be the best asset for this Anime. Since most of us can relate with the characters and to the story as well.
Not to forget that characters in here replicate the real life so they come up with generic and typical personalities.

Enjoyment 9/10: If you are into an anime that replicates the real life, then you will probably enjoy this one. So I hardly recommend this one to watch.

Overall 9/10: Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 would probably the best series that I’ve already watched under this category.

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai Review

By : Unknown
Synopsis: Jinta Yadomi and his group of childhood friends have become estranged after a tragic accident split them apart. Now in their high school years, a sudden surprise forces them to confront their guilt over what that day and come to terms with the ghost of their past.
(Source: NIS America)

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai
English: The flower we saw that day
Genre: Drama, Slice of life, Supernatural
Status: Finished Airing
Episodes: 11
Aired: April 15, 2011 to June 24, 2011
Rating: PG-13 Teens 13 or older


AnoHana was one of the few anime that I've really enjoyed watching, it comes up with a Drama, Slice of life, and Supernatural genre that quite fits for most of the people who loves to watch emotional and yet with a twist in the storyline which is supernatural. Also it is divided into two types of mood which is guilt & realization (in my own opinion only, on how did I interpret the story). At the same time the story of Anohana really illustrates on how we struggle with the ghost of our past.

Speaking of the word "past" we often say that past is past. But, for some reason there are really some of these past that we aren't able to move one, especially if you have something to do or something to say that seems to be impossible at the present time.


Losing someone you love isn’t an easy as 1-2-3 where in fact there is a worst case scenario involvement where you have to confess your feelings with someone else that seems to be impossible right now because he/she’s gone already. You need a long time to move on and to recover from the past. However, each situation that you’ve come up with is always triggering the ghost factor of the past, which is seems to be so hard.

This is a generic story as always, but one thing that I’d love in AnoHana is that it came up with an idea that is generic also but both of them really complimented resulting into a masterpiece.
AnoHana’s ghost factor was the highlight for this anime.

When it comes to art & sound elements there’s nothing special about it. Descent and simple illustration when it comes to characters and other elements that is quite fits to the whole anime which I really enjoyed the most at the same time.

Well, as a matter of fact when it comes to these kinds of genres, being simple in all aspect would be the best asset, as you illustrate the reality.

Leading characters was also the highlights in here, coming from the word guilt & obsession really paired up with the story. Personality for each character and behavior are really great. What I love in here is Jint

a, the way he act and speak really match with the illustration for this main character and Poppo of course.

Enjoyment, probably you will enjoy this one especially if you can relate with the story or you are too depressed or emotional. My advice in here is to watch this one according to your mood it really helps.

So far, I’ll give it a 9, for being simple and well delivered story that came up with a supernatural twist which is very effective among the viewers who rated this anime 8+.

Want to improve my review? Let me here some words from you.

Note: They said, opinions aren’t special as we have our own at the same time, so again this one never intend to please everyone and to persuade everyone to watch it.

Darker Than Black Ryuusei No Gemini Review

By : Unknown
Darker Than Black : Ryuusei No GeminiSynopsis:
In the sequel, Hei and Yin are now on the run after betraying the Syndicate in the previous season. After leaving Japan, Hei encounters Suou Pavlichenko, a 13-year-old Eurasian girl who becomes embroiled in the war and politics of the various factions and Contractors vying for power. Meanwhile, Hell's Gate remains standing in Tokyo, after Hei's efforts to stop the Saturn Ring anti-Gate particle weapon from activating. Although Contractors are safe from the danger of having their existences erased, this does not prevent new and old Contractors from abusing their powers. As Misaki Kirihara and her team in the Public Security Bureau deal with the increasing Contractor cases, she also has to keep the Syndicate at bay, who has major positions in the Japanese police and intelligence bureaus around the world. The storyline setting primarily takes place in both Japan and Russia.

(Source: Wikipedia)



First of all, watching DTB-I was very overwhelming and thrill never leaves you. But after watching this one I think that my expectations are over the limit.


Whats new in this series? A lot of changes. Yes a lot of changes, that would includes the characters, appearances, mood, settings and the story itself.
What word might really fit in this series is the
word "Explore" yes, DTB-RNG really explored a lot in many aspects to make this series really great. Though it's just disappointing because it only has 12 episodes and there is no Season III for it unfortunately.

Okay, here's my score for this.


Story 8/10 : This is quite different from the first season in terms of what is currently happening in the story, also you would never know that it is the continuation of the first season if you don't read the synopsis. In fact I can say that Ryuusei no Gemini can stand alone without watching the first season and probably reading the synopsis of this season is enough to understand what happened from the start. What I mean in here is DTB-RNG made some changes being able for the 2nd season to stand alone. But of course it has the linkage between season I and II which is really great, though there are some aspect of the stories that until now really intrigued me.

Aside from that one of the greatest investment regarding in the story for this series is by adding some new faces on the story and where does the story takes place.

Also the abilities of each contractor are really fun to watch this time since the other abilities from the previous season are common.


Art 9/10 : Character's art were delivered very clear and they were matching according to their characteristics & statistics. While some of the scenes out there are not properly delivered when it comes to art.
But the X-factor of this when it comes to art is the adaptation of the country's dressing style and including it's culture and that's really impressive.


Sound 9/10 : For a music lover like me, well this one is the 2nd highest basis for my criteria. Well, I can actually say that DTB-I has a great quality when it comes to SFX and other sound elements but, it's kinda lazy for ears. But, on this series it has been improved more than the previous season. Especially, if you will notice there are a lot of changes with Hei, not only with the personality but, also on how does he speak and reacts in different circumstances. Opening theme of Ryuusei No Gemini is really great, the music is titled "Tsukiakari No Michishirube" and it was performed by Stereopony a pop rock band in Okinawa that is already disbanded on 2012. What the most unique in here is Suou I like the way on how she deliver her words and reactions, perfectly matched with her characteristics and also the accent regards on their culture. One more thing regarding with the sound is the beat-box at the point where Hei showed himself and I was really surprised with his appearance, made me think "Oh wow This is really cool!!"


Character 9/10 : I am intrigue with the character changes in here especially Hei, a food lover that can probably always win with boodle fights turns into a drunk old looking guy also his polite personality disappeared and turns into a girl slapping guy with a black heart. While at some good point still, Suou Pavlichenko is the one that is totally unique and really, really good in the series. Character development for Suou is really good the way she speaks and the way she acts.


Enjoyment 8/10 : I can't say that I totally enjoyed this one especially it is all about syndicates and crimes so I am expecting a lot of actions unfortunately something happened. Since there is an unexpected event that can be added to the thrill that you'll need to find out to watch this series. Other than that, regarding in all aspects well I can say that you can really enjoy this one.


Overall 9/10 : I'd rather say that I really enjoy this series and you might ending up wanting for this one to have a Season III.

- Copyright © Anime Scoops - Date A Live - Powered by Blogger - Designed by Johanes Djogan -